Skip to content

ISO/IEC 20000 – An Evolving Series

PrintISO/IEC 20000 Current Series 

Many readers will know about ISO20000 part 1 but not about the other parts in the series. ISO20000 is a series of standards that currently consists of the following parts, under the general title Information technology — Service management:

  • Part 1: Service management system requirements
    -2011 edition, specifies minimum requirements for demonstrating excellence in service management, can be used to assess an organization to achieve certification to ISO/IEC 20000-1
  • Part 2: Guidance on the application of service management systems
    -2012 edition, guidance to support the implementation of part 1
  • Part 3: Guidance on scope definition and applicability of ISO/IEC 20000-1
    -2012 edition, specific guidance on areas of scope and applicability used when considering the suitability of ISO20000 for an organization and the appropriate scope
  • Part 4: Process reference model
    -2010 edition, out of date and not aligned to the 2011 edition of part 1
  • Part 5: Exemplar implementation plan for ISO/IEC 20000-1
    -2013 edition, provides hints and templates for planning an ISO20000 implementation
  • Part 10: Concepts and terminology
    -2013 edition, lists all terms and definitions as well as basic concepts of the ISO20000 series and related standards, currently being updated

Three closely related International Standards and Technical Reports are:

  • ISO/IEC 27013 Guidance on the integrated implementation of ISO/IEC 27001:2005 and ISO/IEC 20000‑1:2011
    -2012 edition, guidance on the integration of the two management systems for information security and service management, currently being updated for ISO/IEC 27001:2013
  • ISO/IEC TR 90006 Guideline on the application of ISO 9001:2008 to IT service management and its integration with ISO/IEC 20000‑1:2011
    -2013 edition, guidance on the use of ISO 9001 for a scope that includes IT service management and additional guidance on the integration of two management systems for quality management and service management
  • ISO/IEC TS 15504‑8 Process assessment – Part 8: An exemplar assessment model for IT service management
    -2012 edition, out of date and not aligned to the 2011 edition of part 1

Evolving Series

The ISO20000 series continues to evolve with the following parts under preparation:

  • Part 6: Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of service management systems
    -aimed at certification and accreditation bodies, this is based on ISO 17021 and will provide additional specific requirements for auditing and certifying organizations against ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011
  • Part 9: Guidance on the application of ISO/IEC 20000‑1 to cloud services
    -guidance on the use of ISO20000 part 1 for cloud services based on the cloud service lifecycle
  • Part 11: Guidance on the relationship between ISO/IEC 20000‑1:2011 and service management frameworks
    -explanation of the similarities and differences between ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011 and the ITIL framework including a high level mapping

Other parts which are being considered are:

  • Guidance on the relationship between ISO/IEC 20000-1and CMMI:SVC
  • Guidance for the implementation of ISO/IEC 20000-1 for very small enterprises


The ISO20000 series is growing and has parts and associated standards for many situations and users. The next blog will provide plans for the review of the series and important updates for part 1 and supporting parts. If you are already certified or starting to implement ISO20000 part 1, do not worry, the new edition of part 1is not due out until at least 2018.

Lynda Cooper, an independent consultant and trainer, is one of the first people in the world to hold the ITIL Master qualification. Lynda chairs the BSI committee for IT service management (ITSM). Lynda sits on various ISO/IEC committees representing the UK and is the project editor for ISO/IEC 20000-1 and ISO/IEC 90006.

Posted in ISO Schemes, Qualifications.

Tagged with , .