Skip to content

Change Management Certification and Prosci®- Managing Change Effectively in Different Situations

Dealing with change effectively is essential for individuals, teams and organisations.   Many projects and programs deliver good-quality products on time and within budget, only to fail because the products they produce are not taken up and used by the people they are designed to benefit.

In order to make real, lasting improvements in organisations, change needs to be embraced by the people affected and embedded into new ways of working.  Planning for change and understanding the impacts it will have on people, processes and technology, is crucial for change to be effective.  What processes and working practices will be different?  How will individuals be affected?  Who will be the winners and losers? Change management focuses on the human side of change –  it helps to make change stick by providing tools for individuals and organisations to plan for change, understand its impacts, unlock resistance and engage effectively with stakeholders.

Why get a certification in change management?

Achieving and maintaining professional certification in a field is a valuable asset, and shows that you have invested in yourself to keep your skills and knowledge up to date.  Two well-known qualifications in the field of change management are the APMG and Prosci certifications.  Each of these has a slightly different focus, but both give valuable help to practitioners for managing change effectively in different situations.

The APMG Change Management foundation and practitioner qualifications were developed in partnership with the Change Management Institute (CMI), which is a global not-for-profit professional association for change managers.  The APMG qualifications are aligned with the Change Management Body of Knowledge (CMBoK), which describes the knowledge areas required for effective change management.  They are based on ‘The Effective Change Manager’s Handbook’, guidance for change managers which follows the structure of the knowledge areas in the CMBoK.  APMG certification focuses on four areas:

  • Change and the individual
  • Change and the organisation
  • Communication and stakeholder engagement
  • Change management practice

Within these four areas the APMG qualifications discuss a range of theories, frameworks and models which can be used to help define and manage the impact of implementing change.  This includes things such as building individual motivation and organisational readiness for change, working with different types of organisation, key change-related roles, identifying and meeting learning needs and building team effectiveness.

The Prosci certification focuses on the ADKAR® model for managing individual change, and a three-phase process for managing change at an organisational level.  Prosci certification looks at how these can be used to help individuals plan, manage and reinforce change through a project, and provides tools for people to use at different stages when working on change initiatives.

Which certification is right for me?

Both the Prosci and APMG qualifications are widely recognized and complement each other.  While Prosci focuses on one method and change management framework, and provides tools for change practitioners to use on projects, the APMG certification looks at a wider range of change theories and frameworks and shows how different solutions may be appropriate in different situations.  Both certifications are valuable and can help people improve their effectiveness in managing the impact of change.

Contributed by;

Sue Taylor, Program and Project Management Trainer and Consultant.

Posted in Events.